2017, PATS trials
Adapting and Extending PATS:
University of Toronto Professor Carol Rolheiser Director (CTSI), Professor (OISE), Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation (CTSI) carol.rolheiser@utoronto.ca
Western Sydney University Dr Keith Parry Lecturer in Sport Management, School of Business K.Parry@westernsydney.edu.au
Australian National University Professor Saman Halgamuge Director of the Research School of Engineering saman.halgamuge@anu.edu.au


2014, Office for Learning and Teaching Extension Grant

Adapting and Extending PATS: Variations on purpose, people and process.

Extending on Associate Professor Angela Carbone’s National Teaching Senior Fellowship and Peer Assisted Teaching Scheme (PATS), work will be undertaken to produce a comprehensive and tested ‘Guide to Implementing PATS’ outlining the contexts in which PATS has been adapted and the process for designing, implementing and evaluating PATS variations for effectiveness and impact.

Variations in purpose (quality improvement, quality assurance, scholarship of teaching and learning), people (peer partnerships, employment status and delivery mode) and process (timeframe, scope and deliverables) will be explored.

The project will be led by Dr Jo-Anne Kelder (Faculty of Health, University of Tasmania) with Swinburne University, University of Newcastle, University of Sunshine Coast and Victoria University collaborating to adapt PATS for varying contexts, needs and desired outcomes.

Associate Professor Angela Carbone will act as an advisor on the project team.

Read more in the Monash Memo – 26 November 2014

Institutional Implementation

PATS has been trialed in nine institutions Australia-wide since 2009.

2014 (potential partners)

  • Flinders University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Charles Sturt University
  • UNSW, Canberra
  • James Cook University
  • University of Queensland
  • Australian Catholic Univeristy
  • Victoria University
  • University of Newcastle
  • University of Western Sydney
  • Auckland University of Technology (modified version)


Semester 1

  • University of the Sunshine Coast
  • Griffith University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • University of South Australia
  • Charles Sturt University
  • RMIT
  • Monash University
  • Think Education

Semester 2

  • Macquarie City Campus
  • Griffith University
  • Monash University
  • Kaplan Higher Education
  • University of Tasmania
  • University of Wollongong


  • University of the Sunshine Coast
  • Griffith University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • The University of Newcastle
  • Monash University

2011 Monash University

  • Faculty of IT
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Business & Economics

2010  Monash University

  • Faculty of IT
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Science

2009  Monash University

  • Faculty of IT